How To Delete A LinkedIn Account permanently? [in 2022]

Are you sick of LinkedIn? Well, maybe it is time to delete your LinkedIn profile.

If you want to know how to delete a LinkedIn account, in this Linkedin beginner tutorial, we are going to show you this exactly step by step.

If you prefer to watch a video tutorial on how to delete a LinkedIn account, check out this video tutorial:

How to delete a LinkedIn account?

Regardless of why you want to delete your LinkedIn account, here is a simple step-by-step guide in doing so.

Step #1: Log in to your account.

The first thing you need to do is open the LinkedIn website and log in to your account. Once you’re properly logged in, hover your mouse to the ‘Me’ option found under your LinkedIn profile photo. It’s on the uppermost part of the screen within the menu bar.

Step#2: Change your privacy settings.

Once you find the ‘Me’ option click the icon until you see a drop-down menu. From the drop-down menu, choose Settings and Privacy.

Step #3: Look for the Account preferences tab.

After finding the Settings and Privacy tab, look for the Account preferences tab located at the left-most part of your screen. From the submenu that you see, choose Account management. If you’re already looking at the Account management section, look for the icon that reads ‘Change.’ This is next to the tab that reads ‘Close account.’

Step #4: Choose the right action.

Once you’ve reached the ‘Close account,’ you can choose between account deactivation and account deletion. If you’re unsure if you won’t need your LinkedIn account, later on, you can opt to hibernate it by choosing deactivation of your account temporarily. However, if you’re sure you want to delete your account, select delete account instead.

Step #5: Confirm your decision.

Once you’ve chosen an option, you’ll be asked to confirm the account deletion action. You will also be asked why you decided to delete your account. If you want to share some feedback to improve the platform, you can do so in their feedback box. Once you’re done, make sure to click Next.

Take note that if you’re a Premium account owner, you’ll have to downgrade to basic membership. Otherwise, you can’t close your LinkedIn account.

Step #6: Re-enter your LinkedIn password.

To seal the account deletion process, you’ll be asked to re-enter your password. Do this before clicking the close account button.

What happens when you delete a Linkedin account?

Unlike most platforms that delete all information about the account user and immediately deactivate the account, it would take seven days before LinkedIn can finalize the request and wipe out all your stored data from their server. Fortunately, once you delete your account, your profile will also be wiped out automatically.

What does the seven-day period mean? Firstly, it means that you’ll still see your profile in Google and other search engines within the next seven days. You’ll also appear in online searches. Secondly, this also means that once you decide to delete your account and decide later that you want to go back to LinkedIn again, you’ll need to start from scratch. You need to restart building your connections and collect endorsements.

Can you restore deleted LinkedIn account?

Suppose you want to reactive your deleted LinkedIn account; simply login to the website within 20 days from when you deleted it. Use your login details to reopen and reactivate your account. Take note, however, that you’ve already lost your endorsements, connections, memberships, recommendations, followings, and pending invites after seven days since you deleted your account. Don’t worry since you can always rebuild your profile and further your followings.

Can’t delete the LinkedIn account

The most logical reason you can’t delete your LinkedIn account is that LinkedIn already disabled the button designated for closing the account. Try performing the action from a computer instead of from your phone to remedy this.

You can also try clearing the cache from your computer before reattempting the deletion process. If all else fails, you can contact LinkedIn account support and ask for guidance in deleting your account. This will solve the problem faster.

Deleting your LinkedIn is simple, most especially if you know what to click and where to go. Just be sure that you want to do this to avoid rebuilding your account from the ground up.

Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel To Get More Free Video Tutorials!

roihacks youtube channel

Subscribe to learn more about Facebook ads, Facebook marketing, how to grow a Facebook page, a group or an Instagram account and many more.