How to Delete A Tweet?

Have you tweeted something that you wish you shouldn’t have? Fortunately, Twitter has a delete tweet function that lets you erase tweets in just seconds. So, if you’re looking up “how to delete a tweet?” online, here are easy step-by-step guides that will help you delete your tweets no matter what platform you’re using.

Free Facebook Page Growth Checklist
Free Facebook Page Growth Checklist

How to Delete a Tweet?

If you want to erase a tweet through the Twitter PC application or official site, here are the following steps you should follow:

Step 1: Launch your desktop browser and visit the official Twitter website/PC application to log in to your account.

Step 2: Find the tweet you wish to erase from your profile and select it.

Step 3: Next, select the button containing three circles in a horizontal line located in the top-right corner of your chosen tweet for deletion.

Step 4: A menu will pop up right after clicking the said button. Choose the menu choice that says “Delete.”

Step 5: After pressing Delete, a confirmation

message will show up on your screen. If you wish to proceed with the deletion of your tweet, choose the Delete button once more. On the other hand, if you don’t want to erase your tweet anymore, select the “Cancel” button.

How to Delete a Tweet on iOS/Android phones?

Aside from deleting tweets in Twitter’s desktop application or site, you can also delete tweets on Twitter’s iOS and Android platforms via the mobile application. With that said, here are the quick steps you can follow to delete a tweet on iOS or Android:

Step 1: Open your Twitter mobile app on your iOS/Android phone and enter your account credentials to log in.

Step 2: Go to your Twitter profile and find the tweet you want to remove.

Step 3: Select the tweet that’s bound for deletion.

Step 4: Go to the top-right corner of your selected tweet and press the button with three circles in a vertical or horizontal line.

Step 5: After clicking on the said button, a menu will show up on your screen. Pick the menu choice that says “Delete Tweet.”

Step 6: Upon choosing the “Delete Tweet” menu option, you will receive a confirmation message regarding your tweet deletion. If you’re certain about the deletion of your tweet, choose the “Yes” button. Meanwhile, if you don’t want to delete the tweet anymore, pick the “No” button.

What Happens When You Delete a Tweet?

Great! Your question “how to delete a tweet?” is now answered in detail. You now also know how to delete your tweets on both the mobile/PC application and the social media platform’s official site. So, this now begs the question: what happens after the deletion of a tweet?

As stated in Twitter’s confirmation message before the deletion of a tweet, all your deleted tweets are taken off from your Twitter profile. Once you delete a tweet, all accumulated likes and retweets are also removed. Furthermore, your erased tweet is also eradicated from the timelines of your follower’s accounts and the said social media’s search results.

However, quote retweets on your deleted tweet will not be removed. To add, people might still have a record of your removed tweet through screen capture. So, there’s a chance that other users might still publish your deleted tweet for others to see, even if you’ve already removed it from your Twitter profile.

Can You See a List of Deleted Tweets?

Even though your deleted tweets are long gone from your Twitter profile, timeline, or search results, you can still see your removed tweets through two methods. These include the usage of your Twitter Archive or your Google Cache.

To check your list of erased tweets through your Twitter Archive, download a copy of it from your Account Settings. Once it finishes downloading, extract your file and look for your archive file. It should contain the list of your deleted tweets.

If you have a public Twitter account, you can use Google Cache to look up your recently removed tweets. To do this, start by googling your Twitter profile. After locating your Twitter profile’s search result on Google, select the button with three circle dots just beside it.

Next, select the “Cached” option on the pop-up menu. You should now see your removed tweets through your recently cached Twitter profile. But do keep in mind that this only works if you haven’t wiped out your cache!

Can’t Delete a Tweet

Can’t delete a tweet? Here are possible reasons why you’re having problems deleting your tweets:

  1. You’re having connection problems. If the deletion of your tweet won’t proceed, make sure to check if you have a stable internet connection.
  2. You’re trying to delete a tweet you didn’t publish.

You can only remove tweets that you published yourself. If you’re trying to delete a tweet you retweeted, you have to undo your retweeted tweet.

Conclusion

This marks the end of the “how to delete a tweet?” step-by-step guides. Overall, it’s very easy to get rid of your tweets if you ever need to. And although removed tweets are forever wiped out of Twitter’s search results and timelines of other users, you can still find ways to view them.

Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel To Get More Free Video Tutorials!

roihacks youtube channel

Subscribe to learn more about Facebook ads, Facebook marketing, how to grow a Facebook page, a group or an Instagram account and many more.