If you no longer use a Google AdSense account, you might want to close the AdSense account.
In this Google AdSense tutorial, we are going to show you how to close an AdSense account step by step and also explain everything you have to know related to deactivating Google AdSense accounts.
Without further ado, let’s dive in.
How to close a Google AdSense Account?
To close a Google AdSense account:
- Sign in to your Google AdSense account using this link: http://www.google.com/adsense
- Click on ‘Account’ on the left sidebar
- On the Account Information page, click on ‘Close account’ at the bottom of the page.
- Select the reason for closing your AdSense account
- Select the checkbox that you understand what happens when you close an AdSense account
- Click on ‘Close Account’.
- Click ‘Confirm’ to confirm one more time to close the AdSense account.
Your AdSense account should be closed now.
Requirements for closing an AdSense account
Keep in mind that before you would be able to go through the steps I have explained above you have to meet certain requirements to be able to close an AdSense account.
- You have a YouTube account, the YouTube account has to be approved
- If you also have an associated Google Ad Manager account, it has to be closed as well.
- If you also have a Google AdMob account, it also must be closed before you would be able to close the AdSense account
- Last but not least, you also have to have an administrator role within the Google AdSense account if you want to be able to close the account.
What happens when you close a Google AdSense account?
Here is what happens once you have closed an AdSense account.
First, all ads that are currently running on any of your AdSense website, will stop serving in the next 24 hours.
Next, if you have unpaid earnings in your AdSense account and they exceed the minimum payment threshold, you will receive a final AdSense payout in approximately 90 months after closing the AdSense account.
Keep in mind that you have to meet certain requirements to receive this final AdSense payout:
- Your AdSense Account has a balance above the payout threshold
- Your Google AdSense account has no payment holds
- The address of your Google AdSense account is verified.
Can’t close an AdSense account
If you can’t close the Google AdSense account, here are the most common issues that are causing this:
- You have to have admin role in the Google AdSense account to be able to close the account
- Your address in the Google AdSense account has to be verified first
- Your Google AD Manager, AdMob account has to be closed first, if you have any of them.
- Your payments are on hold.
Can you recover a closed AdSense account?
Yes, if you want to use a closed Google AdSense again, you just have to reactivate the AdSense account.
We have a separate tutorial on it that you can check out here:
If you want to completely delete a Google AdSense account, so nobody can recover it later, check out this tutorial where we explain that process as well: