How To Delete A Facebook Page? [in 2022]

There are multiple reasons why you might want to delete a Facebook page. Whatever your reasons, we will explain everything in this article about deleting Facebook pages. In this Facebook business page tutorial we will also cover:

  • how to delete a Facebook page? (step by step process)
  • What happens when you delete a Facebook page?
  • Alternative solutions to deleting a Facebook page

At the end of this blog post, we will also answer some frequently asked questions related to deleting Facebook pages.

If you prefer to watch a video on how to delete a Facebook page, check out this one:

How to delete a Facebook Page?

To delete a Facebook page, do the following:

  1. Open the Facebook page
  2. Scroll down the left sidebar, and click on ‘Settings’ with the gear icon

Facebook Page Settings

  1. Scroll down on the ‘General’ page settings
  2. Click on ‘Remove page’
  3. Click on Delete [your page]
  4. Confirm that you want to delete your page.

Delete Facebook Page Permanently

 

What happens when you delete a Facebook page?

When you delete your Facebook page, you have to confirm the deletion of the Facebook page as you can see in the picture above.

The Facebook page won’t be immediately deleted as you will have 14 days to restore the page, and even after the 14 days, you will be asked to confirm that you want to delete the FB page permanently.

So, make sure you really want to delete a Facebook Business page, before you would permanently delete it, as then Facebook will really delete the FB page forever, you won’t be able to restore it, see your previously published posts, get back your Facebook fans and followers.

Alternatives to deleting a Facebook page

For these reasons, you should also consider the alternative solutions that are similar to deleting your Facebook Business pages which are:

If you are interested in the details of the above processes, check out the linked tutorials or keep reading as we over them here quickly as well..

Merge two Facebook Business pages

When you have two similar pages with similar topics covered and both of them have the same address, you have the opportunity to merge these pages together. To merge two Facebook pages:

  1. Click on this link: facebook.com/pages/merge
  2. Choose the two pages you would like to merge

Merge duplicate FB pages

3. Click on Continue then Request merge

Once two Facebook pages have been merged, it cannot be undone.

Change the name of a Facebook Business Page

If you want to change the name of your Facebook page, you can easily do that as well. If the name of your business or your website changes its name, but the main offering of the business doesn’t change, the best thing you can do is to change the name of the FB page.

This way, you won’t lose any of your previous FB posts, and most importantly your existing Facebook followers. To change the name of a Facebook page:

  1. From your Facebook newsfeed click on ‘Pages’ on the left side of the screen

Pages page from the Facebook NewsFeed

  1. Select the page you want to change the name of
  2. Scroll down the left sidebar, and click on ‘Settings’ with the gear icon
  3. Click on ‘Page info’
  4. Here you can edit the name of the page and even the username or the description of your page. Edit Facebook Page name

 

  1. Review your name change request and click Request Change.

Unpublish a Facebook Business Page

The third alternative you have to a Facebook Business page deletion is to unpublish the Facebook page. Unpublishing a FB page means that your Facebook page won’t be visible to the public and even to people who liked your Facebook page before. It will only be visible to people who manage the FB page.

To unpublish a Facebook page, do the following:

  1. From your Facebook newsfeed click on ‘Pages’ on the left side of the screen
  2. Select the page you want to unpublish
  3. Scroll down the left sidebar, and click on ‘Settings’ with the gear icon
  4. In the ‘General’ tab click on ‘Page Visibility’.
  5. Select ‘Page Unpublished’

Unpublish a Facebook page

You can change back the status of the page to ‘Published’ whenever you wish to do so. Just follow the same process we have outlined above and select ‘Published’.

Frequently Asked Questions: How to delete a Facebook Business Page?

Why can’t I delete a Facebook page?

You have to be the admin of the page to be able to delete a Facebook Page. Also, when you delete a Facebook page, you have to wait 14 hours until you will be able to permanently delete a Facebook page.

Can you hide a Facebook page from the public?

Yes, you can hide a Facebook page, it is called unpublishing a Facebook page. When you unpublish a Facebook page, nobody will see the FB page, only the people who manage it.

I can’t change the name of my Facebook page, why?

In most cases, you should be able to change the name of your FB business page. If you can’t, you should consider the following reasons that might prevent you from changing the name:
you don’t have the page role that enables you to change the name of the FB page
You or another admin of the page has just recently changes the name of the Facebook page.
You have so called limits on your Facebook Page. Read here what that means.

 

Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel To Get More Free Video Tutorials!

roihacks youtube channel

Subscribe to learn more about Facebook ads, Facebook marketing, how to grow a Facebook page, a group or an Instagram account and many more.