How to Deactivate A Facebook Page? [in 2022]

If you want to make a Facebook page deactivated, Facebook provides you with a feature that does just this exact thing.

Deactivating a Facebook page can be useful if you want to make bigger changes on the Facebook page or if you want to temporarily hide the Facebook page for any reason whatsoever.

You can also deactivate a Facebook page forever and still have access to the Facebook posts you have shared on the page as an admin or as a Facebook page editor.

In this Facebook page tutorial, we are going to show you how to deactivate a Facebook page. If you prefer video tutorials, scroll down to the end of this article.

Deactivating a Facebook page temporarily

As we said, you have the opportunity to deactivate a Facebook page temporarily.

This means that the Facebook page will be hidden from the public and only the Facebook page admin, editors and other people with access to the Facebook page will be able to see the page and its posts.

Regular Facebook page fans, people who follow the FB page won’t see the Facebook page and even posts where they previously commented will be gone from their activity history.

How to deactivate a Facebook page temporarily?

So if you want to deactivate a Facebook page, here is how to do it:

  1. From your Facebook newsfeed click on ‘Pages’ on the left side of the screen
  2. Select the page you want to deactivate
  3. Scroll down the left sidebar, and click on ‘Settings’ with the gear iconSettings tab on Facebook page
  4. In the ‘General’ tab click on ‘Page Visibility’.Page Visibility of Facebook page
  5. Select ‘Page Unpublished’Unpublish a Facebook page
  6. Click on ‘Save changes’
  7. You will see a pop up window where you will be asked why you want to deactivate a Facebook page. Select anything and click on ‘Next’.

Now, your Facebook page is deactivated, so it is completely hidden from the public.

How to deactivate a Facebook page forever?

You can just leave the Facebook page unpublished or if you want to, you can also delete the Facebook page. This means that the FB page and all of its content will be deleted as well.

So if you might need to use the Facebook page later in the future, we wouldn’t recommend using this option.

How to reactivate a deactivated Facebook page?

If you want to activate a deactivated Facebook page, here is how to do it:

  1. From your Facebook newsfeed click on ‘Pages’ on the left side of the screen
  2. Select the page you want to unpublish
  3. Scroll down the left sidebar, and click on ‘Settings’ with the gear icon
  4. In the ‘General’ tab click on ‘Page Visibility’.
  5. Select ‘Page Published’

If you go through this process, your Facebook page will be once again visible to the public and you are now able to post new FB posts.

If you want to check out a video tutorial on how to deactivate a Facebook page, here you go:

Subscribe To Our YouTube Channel To Get More Free Video Tutorials!

roihacks youtube channel

Subscribe to learn more about Facebook ads, Facebook marketing, how to grow a Facebook page, a group or an Instagram account and many more.