Do you want to give up on YouTube and delete Your YouTube channel completely? Well, if you are sure then here are the steps you need to take.
In this YouTube tutorial, we are going to show you how to delete a YouTube channel permanently. We are also going to explain what happens when you delete a YouTube channel, and what is a better alternative to deleting a YouTube channel
Without further ado, let’s dive in.
How to delete a YouTube channel?
Here is how to delete a YouTube channel:
- Open YouTube Studio
- Click on ‘Settings’ in the left sidebar
- Select ‘Channel’ from the left again
- Click on ‘Advanced Settings’
- Scroll down and click on ‘Remove YouTube Content’
- Select’ I want to permanently delete my content’.
- Check the boxes to confirm that you want to delete the YT channel.
- Click on ‘Delete my content’.
Now, your YouTube channel will be deleted completely. So make sure you really want to delete your YouTube channel before going through this process.
What happens if I delete a YouTube channel?
Keep in mind that if you delete a YouTube channel:
- all YouTube videos will be deleted
- you will lose all of your YouTube subscribers
- you will lose all comments and likes you had on the YouTube videos
- you will lose all YouTube playlists you made
- you will lose your search and watch history
For this reason, we would avoid deleting your YouTube channel intentionally in most of the cases. If you want to delete YouTube videos, we would recommend bulk deleting YouTube videos.
Or there is also another alternative to YouTube channel deletion that we would recommend.
Alternative to deleting a YouTube account:
The best alternative option to deleting a YouTube channel: hide the YouTube channel temporarily.
In this case, you will have the chance later to unhide the YouTube channel, and you won’t lose any of your content and YouTube subscribers.
If you want to learn more about hiding your channel, check out this tutorial:
Before you would delete your YouTube channel
Make sure you really want to delete a YouTube account, as it is very difficult to recover a deleted YouTube channel
You can also backup a YouTube channel partially by downloading all the YouTube videos from the channel.
But even then, you will lose the complete history of your YouTube channel and all of your YouTube subscribers.
That is why in most cases, we would either hide the YouTube channel or make the YouTube videos unlisted or bulk delete the YouTube videos.
How to delete a YouTube channel on mobile?
Currently, it is not possible to delete a YouTube channel on a mobile device.
If you want to delete a YouTube channel, you have to get a desktop computer and open YouTube Studio there and follow the instructions above.
How to avoid your YouTube channel from getting deleted?
As you can, getting a YouTube channel deleted is a big tragedy for a YouTube creator, so make sure you secure your YouTube channel.
We have a separate tutorial, where we share some tactics on how to avoid getting hacked on YouTube: