If you are embarrassed about a YouTube channel but you don’t want to delete the YouTube channel, your best option is to hide the YouTube channel.
In this YouTube channel tutorial, we are going to show you how to hide a YouTube channel temporarily.
If you prefer to watch a video tutorial on how to hide a YouTube channel, check out this one:
How to hide a YouTube Channel temporarily?
Here is how to a hide a YouTube channel:
- Open YouTube Studio
- Click ‘Settings’ on the left sidebar
- Then click on ‘Channel’
- Select ‘Advanced Settings’
- Scroll down and select ’Remove YouTube Content’.
- Select ‘I want to hide my content’
- Confirm that you want to hide your YouTube channel.
- Select ‘Hide my channel’
If you went through this process, your YouTube channel should be hidden completely. But what does this mean exactly? Let’s cover this in more detail.
What happens when you hide a YouTube channel?
When you hide a YouTube channel:
- all your YouTube videos will become private
- Your YouTube channel will be hidden
- your likes and subscriptions will be hidden as well
However, all comments and replies on your YouTube channel will be deleted and you can’t recover them even if you re-enable the channel.
Also, if you change your mind, you can bring back your YouTube channel as we later explain.
Can’t hide a YouTube channel
If you can’t hide a YouTube channel, it is most likely related to the YouTube channel role you have. Only YouTube Channel Owners can hide their YouTube channel.
Even if you are a Channel Manager you won’t be able to hide the YouTube channel. The same is true for any lower-level YT channel role.
So either send this tutorial to the YouTube channel owner or try to get the ownership of the YouTube channel.
Deleting vs Hiding a YouTube channel
Deleting a YouTube channel is a more radical alternative to hiding a YouTube channel.
Whereas when you hide a YouTube channel, you can reenable it any time you want, deleting a YouTube channel will permanently remove all your YouTube content and your existing subscribers will be listed as well.
Also, deleted YouTube content is very difficult to recover, so in most cases, we would recommend either hiding the YouTube channel or deleting certain YouTube videos, or just making the YouTube videos unlisted.
Changed your mind?
If you have changed your mind and you want to display your YouTube channel again, fortunately, you can unhide the YouTube channel, any time you want.
Here is a quick tutorial on it:
Related Tutorials – How To Hide a YouTube Channel?
Here are some related YouTube tutorials you will find useful: